If you have recently purchased a new vehicle, obtained your driver’s license, or moved into Texas, you are required by law to purchase automobile insurance. Like all states, Texas has specific laws and guidelines for drivers to ensure that everyone on Texas roadways is protected in the event of an auto accident. In short, Texas auto insurance policies serve as proof that you are financially responsible for your actions while driving. Here are some auto insurance basics for Texas drivers, residents, and visitors.
Texas Insurance Requirements
Texas law requires drivers to obtain a minimum amount of coverage, which is broken down as follows:
- Bodily Injury Coverage Per Person – $30,000
- Bodily Injury Coverage Per Incident – $60,000
- Property Damage Coverage Per Incident – $25,000
These figures are the minimum amounts required by law, but depending on your individual coverage needs and insurance policyholder, these amounts may appear differently on your policy.
Texas law does not require you to purchase an uninsured/underinsured motorist policy, however, you should know that Texas is considered a tort or “fault” state. A “fault” state means that drivers responsible for causing accidents will be held liable for financial losses and any injuries sustained by others. The benefits of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage are clear – if you are injured in an accident caused by someone who does not have insurance, you will not be left out to dry with no relief options. Instead, your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will kick in, allowing you to file a claim with your own insurance provider to get compensation for personal injuries or property damage.
Again, you are not required to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, but Texas insurance providers must give you the option, and you must decline this form of coverage in writing. There are thousands of drivers on Texas roadways who do not have proper insurance coverage, and their irresponsible (and often illegal) choices put you and your family at risk.
Personal Injury Protection
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is another type of coverage that offers protection for those on Texas roadways. PIP coverage amounts range, with the minimum standard amount starting at $2,500. You have the option of purchasing additional coverage. PIP coverage is helpful because it covers, not only medical expenses and losses, but also up to 80 percent of lost income and care giving expenses for someone injured in an accident.
Have Questions? Contact a Texas Personal Injury Attorney
These basic insurance guidelines can be helpful in understanding Texas law and how insurance works after an accident. Unfortunately, thousands of people are hurt each year on Texas roadways due to drivers who are not insured, or who otherwise behave negligently on the road. If you have questions about your rights or need help understanding your insurance coverage after being injured in an auto accident, contact Daic Law. At Daic Law, we understand how confusing and frustrating managing insurance after an accident can be, and we are here to help!
Check out our article: 8 Things to Remember After an Auto Accident